The Silent Wife – Karin Slaughter

Not entirely sure where to start… First of all this book was amazing, second of all I have so much to say and when I read this book I had no one to talk about it with!!! Third of all, this review is going to have spoilers in it. I will put a massive spoiler warning before I get to those bits though! πŸ™‚

The Silent Wife is Karin Slaughter’s 20th book and it is a continuation of the Will Trent series. After a little run of standalones – Pieces of her, The Good Daughter – Karin gave us The Last Widow last year, and now The Silent Wife to give us our fill of Will and Sara. It is out next month – put June 25th in your calendar!

I’ll just give you a quick reminder of the Will Trent series books:

  • Triptych
  • Fractured
  • Undone
  • Broken
  • Fallen
  • Criminal
  • Unseen
  • The Kept Woman
  • The Last Widow

It follows on from the Grant County series, where we originally met Sara Linton, want a quick reminder of those?

There are a couple of standalones, the two mentioned a couple of paragraphs back, as well as – Cop Town and Pretty Girls.

So those are the main books for KS, now we’re up to date, let’s review The Silent Wife. πŸ™‚

The blurb tells us that there is a brutal murder case (always) that Will and Sara need to solve. The tricksy bit is, that the MO is similar to a murder 8 years ago (I’ll come back to this time frame later) however there is already someone in prison for that crime. Sara and Will need to go back and solve the original case before they can solve the latest one.

OK this is where I have to say SPOILER ALERT AHEAD. If you are going to read the book PLEASE don’t read on. I really really want you going into this book blind, it will be so worth it, I promise.

I’d recommend reading the series from the start, but you can read it on it’s own. You’d get more out of it if you read from the beginning though πŸ™‚

Remember Jeffrey? Ahhhh Jeffrey. I love Jeffrey. Always have been, and always will be, Team Jeffrey. So this book brings back our favourite small town police chief. Karin teased us with this last month on her various social media platforms and since then I have been waiting for a chance to read this book.

The original murder case was Jeffrey and Lena’s (Pah Stupid Woman), and the book jumps back and forth between present day and back then. I liked this format and it was really well done, and easy to read. It flowed the way it should and I never didn’t know what time period I was in.

The earlier story was during the time between Sara and Jeffrey’s two marriages, so – to put it mildly – they weren’t on good terms.

Now, I said I’d come back to the time thing… well KS put a note at the end of the book to explain that although the original story in the book is set 8 years previously, in fact it has been 19 years since Blindsighted – she just said that it’s fiction and she can do what ever she wants basically πŸ™‚ Which I wholeheartedly agree with – however, I would have appreciated this note before I read the book because I was constantly thinking I was going a bit crazy with my timings.

Also there is a bit where it says Lena is 32, and has 15 years police experience behind her – I make her 17 , then, when she became a cop?! I think I must have misread or misunderstood a bit somewhere, but that stayed with me for a bit.

Anyway, that isn’t important.

In regards to the series – Grant or Trent – I have always preferred the Grant County Series of books. Probably because I read them first and I am loyal to my favourite book – Blindsighted. So I was really glad to be able to revisit the old town and set of characters from back then. I loved being back in a small town, where everybody knows everybody, and we are amongst old friends.

The Lintons – Tessa, Eddie and Cathy. Brock. Marla. The police squad – Frank, Matt, Lena. I am 100% not a fan of Loser Lena, as you will know from ANY of my other Grant County reviews .

The original murder was of a college student, out in the woods near the college. She was brutally attacked and left for dead, the offender using his knowledge of anatomy to paralyse her so that she was still alive during his sickening abuse, but couldn’t move. Loser Lena makes a nearly fatal error of not checking properly if the girl is alive or dead – costing her half an hour of time where the victim could’ve been receiving medical treatment.

When Sara and Will eventually solve the case and the bad guy/gal was revealed, I was a bit gutted that it was them. About 60% of the way in, I started cottoning on to the idea that it could be them, and then at 90% when it was confirmed I was a bit…. saddened. And I think you will be too, if you have followed the whole series.

Running along in the background is the ongoing story between Will and Sara and the will they/won’t they get married storyline. This rumbles on throughout the book, and although I enjoyed it, I did want to shake them both at points and just bash their heads together.

Faith and Amanda are both back. As is Nick Shelton. I love Nick, he is adorable. I’ve said before that I think he and Sara should’ve got together in another world where Jeffrey didn’t exist.

So overall this was a fantastic book, a great addition to the Will Trent series. I am pretty sure that we won’t see Jeffrey again though, which upsets me no end. But then I thought that after Skin Privilege and here we are! πŸ™‚

Sorry that this was such a babbling review, but as I said at the start, I’ve had no one to talk about this book to!! Definitely read this if you are a thriller fan, a KS fan, if you want gore and violence and plenty of small town nuances. KS writes very gory details and the level of violence in this book is another level. I think it is probably at the very top of my threshold for reading about, but as she mentions in a passage after the book – she has always written gritty books about violence against women and she believes it is a story that needs telling.

Ok I’ll leave it there. If you’ve made it this far, well done!

Happy Reading!

Becca x

(Thanks to NetGalley and the author for an advanced reader copy of this book).